Peel Your Eyes Off the CGI and the Viddy Games and Look at the Real Special Effects, Dorks

Sometimes… no, strike that… all the time I feel like I’m the only person who sets out to work every morning and returns home each evening and actually looks at the amazing light shows that we’ve been blessed with seemingly every day this summer. One reason I think this is that I simply never see people looking at the sky when this stuff is going on; just people scurrying about in their usual dazes. Another reason is the following: I was taking a picture of the sunrise a few days ago at the bus stop and the lady standing there next to me seemed puzzled as to what I was doing, until I pointed above her head eastward. Our habits of ignoring the gifts of nature are so ingrained that we’ve fallen into some kind of groundward-glancing sleep that keeps our eyes below the horizon. This lady was pleasantly surprised at what she saw. Sadly, looking up would never have occurred to her, so inculcated was she into this societal mindset. This is a lady who reads corporate management books in transit, so her bafflement at what is real and important in this life should not surprise me.

While most of you people were getting your fix on the latest comic book movie or first-person computer/video shooter or corporate management books or whatever petty diversions you’ve sequestered yourselves into, this is the kind of stuff I’ve been looking at. Free special effects from nature or God or from whatever origin you like. These are some sunrises and sunsets from just the past few days. The last item here was a very transitory “atomic bomb” cloud effect of the setting sun shooting rays upward through a cloud top, which happened about two minutes before disappearing on the night of July 22, 2008. (See also previous posting: That Sunset Last Night in Louisville, Ky.)

-EG

2 Responses to Peel Your Eyes Off the CGI and the Viddy Games and Look at the Real Special Effects, Dorks

  1. adamsemail says:

    You are so right. I took my son to Shenandoah National Park for a week. (He lives with his mom in Wisconsin) It took him 3 days to get his mind unplugged and start to notice things. We had a discussion about what is real and I told him I would rather sit on top of a mountain with a 360 degree view, with the wind in my hair and eating trailmix out of a ziplock, than watch the discovery channel on a 100 inch flat screen with a foodbag strapped to my face.

    People don’t know what’s real anymore, and we wonder why our planet is turning into a toilet.

  2. gravybread says:

    Thanks for the anecdote. That sounds like real livin’. -EG

Leave a Reply

