Let the Weeds Grow and Watch What Happens

Botany is not my area of expertise, so I don’t know what these beauties are called. I looked up flowering weeds in Google Images and came up with something that looks similar to this called hoary cress (aka, white weed). [ However, I’ve been informed these are Queen Anne’s Lace; the images bear this out. ]. These babies are growing at the edge of the sidewalk below the front porch and directly facing the front door of my house. The flowers sit atop a two-foot stem. (I did check to make sure this wasn’t some sort of “illegal” plant, otherwise I wouldn’t post the pix.) I found a website touting weed control and it defines weeds as “plants out of place.” Out of place? Says who? Now I ask you, what kind of arrogance is that? The plants were here before us. And do these look out of place to you? Where could they possibly look out of place? They don’t look out of place to me, and that’s why I’m letting them and a lot of other out of place things grow on my property for my own aesthetic enjoyment while my neighbors curse and battle them with toxic poisons like Round Up. To me, these flowers looks as cool as anything I could plant myself. So why fight them?

-EG

One Response to Let the Weeds Grow and Watch What Happens

  1. Jake says:

    My mom told me this is called Queen Anne’s lace just recently, it seems to grow everywhere out in the country. I see this a lot, I live in Missouri and there are a lot of wildflowers in the summer. but yeah I think this flower is pretty too.

Leave a Reply

